photo: 1
music: | video:
Click for booking information
Back to artists list
The Yellowjackets in 2013:

Russell Ferrante - acoustic piano, electric piano, keyboards
Bob Mintzer - tenor, sopranosaxophones, bass clarinet, ewi
William Kennedy - drums
Felix Pastorius - electric bass

In 1977, Robben Ford assembled a group of veteran session musicians to record his album The Inside Story. The trio of musicians, which included keyboardist Russell Ferrante, bassist Jimmy Haslip and drummer Ricky Lawson, soon discovered a certain "chemistry" and musical affinity that led to their formation of Yellowjackets.

At the beginning of 1999, William Kennedy departed Yellowjackets to pursue other interests, and Peter Erskine joined the group for the balance of the year. Peter had played with Bob Mintzer on some of his big-band and small group recordings, so it was a natural that he would become one of the Yellowjackets. Unfortunately, Erskine's busy schedule would conflict with the band's, and he would depart by year's end without ever having recorded an album with the group. William returned to the band.

powered by Booking Software