|’t Goude Hooft originates from 1423 and is the eldest hostel of The Hague, mentioned as tavern “In ‘gulde hoift”. Besides a restaurant with terrace there is a multifunctional room in the cellar, called “Club 1660”. In the spring of 2013 eight suites were completed, what makes ‘t Goude Hooft a true hostel as it originally was.
The building has a rich history of altertions. The tavern is located at the Groenmarkt (green market, vegetable market). In 1660 the tavern was rebuilt by Pieter Post, who added two golden heads to the front of the building. In 1886 another renovation took place. In the 20th century the ownership changed to Heineken, who hired the Amsterdam architect F.A. Warners to rebuild ‘t Goude Hooft from the bottom, conform drawings of Pieter Post, a bit larger than the original. In 1939 the tavern reopened. On the second floor you can find the weapon room with a fresco of Pieter Post as regent. The famous chef-cook Henry Thijs (from Amsterdam: Dikker & Thijs) was asked to bring the glory back to ‘t Goude Hooft.
In 2012 ownership changed to BIG Horeca. On 4 June 2012 the restaurant reopend after a new renovation including the cellar, with respect to the historical characteristics of the building.